in , ,

KZN Midlands schools news, February 2019

St Charles College 1st XI

Huge win for St Charles

St Charles College 1st XI were crowned KZN Coca-Cola Schools T20 champions recently after a convincing 38-run victory over Westville Boys High at the Pietermaritzburg Oval.

The coin fell in favour of Westville Boys and they chose to bowl first.

Westville started well with the ball as they made light work of the dangerous Clive Madande, who was trapped in front with only 27 runs on the board.


Nathan Lunderstedt and James Twycross attempted to steady the ship but Daniel Trevethan struck 14 runs later with the wicket of Lunderstedt who was caught by Francois Fourie.

The two early wickets inspired the visitors’ bowlers who did not give St Charles a chance to build any partnerships, striking at regular intervals.

However, middle-order batsmen Jason Login and Wesley Madhervre provided some resistance as the pair took St Charles to 123 runs to insert some hope in the dressing room.

Madhervre top scored for the Inland side with 35 runs and struck the only maximum of the innings.

St Charles eventually reached a competitive 156 in their allocated 20 overs.

Wynand Steynberg was the star with the ball as he finished with 2/11 in two overs. Daniel Trevethan was the most economical bowler with a miserly rate of four runs to the over.

Midlands hockey ace primed for SPAR tournament

In reply, Westville Boys’ required 7.8 runs an over to get over the line.

Like their opponents, Westville did not enjoy a good start as they lost two early wickets courtesy of Jason Login and Keegan Crawford.

This brought Gareth Beavan to the crease but Kian Channon held his nerve and sent Beavan packing with only seven runs to his name.


St Charles could smell blood and some excellent fielding from the hosts yielded a remarkable four run-outs.

Westville Boys High were knocked over for just 118 runs and Login was chief destroyer with 2 wickets at 4.6 per over.

St Charles will now travel to the country’s capital, where they will represent the Hollywoodbets Dolphins franchise at the University of Pretoria.

Five other franchise winners will be present in the 2019 Coca-Cola Schools T20 National Finals where the winner stands a chance to win R110 000 for their school.

*More information can be found at

Picture credit: Anesh Debiky/Gameplan Media

Howick High School was awarded a trophy by the South African Blood Service for collecting 199 donations last year. The school thanked the Howick community for supporting this very valuable, life-saving service.

The following boys from Merchiston Prep were selected for the Umgungundlovu Provincial District Swimming Team, in their respective age groups. They will take part in the KZN Swimming trials on March 9.

Front row: Warwick Trodd, Matthew Thomson, Murray Lancaster, Cronje Viljoen and Daniel Uys.
Middle row: Matthew Lock, Nathan Lessing, Silonde Mhlongo, Jason Mumford and Luke Foure.
Second back row: Cameron Maud and Jayden Saville.
Back row: Samuel Hughes, Brent Gademan, Ricky Lottering and Codi Robinson

Hannah van der Merwe (Grade 2), Justin van der Merwe (Grade 5) and Kayla Bisset (Grade 2).

Laddsworth Primary pupils took part in the Eston Mudman held on Sunday, February 17. Kayla Bisset and Hannah van der Merwe (Grade 2) competed in the Under 8 Mudskippers Category, with Hannah finishing 2nd and Kayla 4th. Justin van der Merwe (Grade 5) came 6th in the Under 11 category.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *





SPAR School Girls’ Hockey Challenge.

Midlands hockey ace primed for SPAR tournament


In plain site