in , , , ,

KZN Government applauds winners of 2017 Mandela Day Marathon

KZN Government applauds winners of 2017 Mandela Day Marathon

Tekletsion Kassahun Tefera (Ethiopia) crossing the finishing line for the 42km run. Pic supplied

KZN Provincial Government has congratulated the winners and participants of this year’s Mandela Day Marathon whose main 42 km race today covered the iconic route between Edendale and the Mandela Capture Site outside Howick for the sixth time since 2012.

The human spirit has once again triumphed as some fifteen thousand athletes from all over the globe competed in various disciplines in the uMgungundlovu district where the late former President Nelson Mandela was arrested 55 years ago by the apartheid police,” said KZN MEC for Cogta Nomusa Dube-Ncube.

The winners of the 42.2 km Marathon are Tekletsion Kassahun Tefera (Ethiopia) in the men’s category and Mamarallo Tjoka (Lesotho) in the women’s category. The winners of the 21 km race are Jobo Khatoane (Lesotho) in the men’s category and Betha Chikanga (Zimbambwe) in the women’s category.

The second and third in the main 42 km race are Lyno Muchena (South Africa) and Kebede Aberra Dinke (Ethiopia), respectively, in the men’s race and Selam Abere Alebachew (Ethiopia) and Liveness Madziva , respectively, in the women’s race.

The Mandela Day Marathon has again demonstrated our capacity to organise world-class sporting events that not only bring people together for a common purpose but also provide much needed economic incentives for our communities and municipalities in KZN,” said Dube-Ncube.

The sixth edition of the Mandela Day Marathon exceeded all expectations, with an increase in participation, and facilities available to athletes and spectators. The 2017 marathon has also benefited from a major sponsorship deal with ABSA totalling an amount of R6-million over three years.

Results of other races are available at  


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *





Jessop and Haw grab the Mandela Day MTB Dash trophies

Road Routes Affected in Pietermaritzburg UCI Para-cycling