in , , , , , , ,

Hilton College crowned Coca-Cola T20 champions

Hilton College crowned Coca-Cola T20 champions

Hilton College take T20 Champs

Hilton College were crowned the Coca-Cola Schools T20 Challenge KwaZulu-Natal champions when they beat Clifton College by 62 runs at the Pietermaritzburg Oval. Anesh Debiky/KwaZulu-Natal Cricket Union

Pietermaritzburg – Strong batting performances from Michael Sclanders and Gareth Schreuder saw Hilton College beat Clifton College by 62 runs at Pietermaritzburg Oval on Wednesday in the Coca Cola Schools T20 Challenge Provincial final.

Sclanders, who came in the three, amassed an impressive 67 off 53 balls consisting of eight fours and one six before became one of Simon Holmes’ four victims. Schreuder, who went out for 49 off 35 balls, followed soon after Sclanders when he was bowled by Holmes in the 19th over. The home side set a strong tone as they finished on 148/5 in their 20 overs.

The pick of the bowlers for Clifton College was the in-form Holmes with 4/27; however, it was the batsmen who battled for the Durban side when they lost four wickets inside the first six overs. Captain Matthew Montgomery tried to hold it down for his side, but unfortunately, he also got dismissed by Colby Dyer for 32 off 24 balls. Thereafter, wickets fell regularly as Clifton were all out for 86 with three overs to spare.

Hilton College will now head to Pretoria for the national finals where they will face schools from the other franchise winners.

However, all was not lost for Clifton as their stand-out players Montgomery and Holmes were selected for the Temba Bavuma Coca Cola All Stars team. This new addition to the tournament is aimed at spreading the talent search net wider. The team will consist of two players from each school that did not succeed in the franchise finals and will play in the curtain-raiser match against a CSA Development Hub team during the Coca-Cola Schools T20 Challenge National Finals. Bavuma who was present at the Oval and witnessed the talent on display said that the new addition to this tournament will give these young men a chance to once more showcase their talent.

The three-day national finals will take place at the University of Pretoria Cricket Oval from 16-18 March, and will see the six franchise winners, as well as two of the best schools out of CSA’s Focus Schools programme, battle it out to be named the 2018 Coca-Cola Schools T20 Challenge champions.

More information can be found at


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *





Howick High News February

Rotary Fundraiser to Inspire Midlands Teachers