in ,

Charli blazes a trail in ROAG series

U13 blitzes short-course field

Charli Mlotshwa, pictured on his way to victory at the Fuel & Gas Kamberg event, was the star of the short-course trail running series. Picture: Fuel & Gas Kamberg

Meander Chronicle Reporter

The finalisation of results for the Quattro ROAG Series powered by Momentum meant the elite competitors could celebrate after a tough year, but further down the leaderboards, the age group category winners were also able to revel in some noteworthy victories.

Elite mountain bikers Stuart Marais and Christie Hearder were the top mountain bikers in the series and were full value for their R25 000 prizes – the biggest for any MTB series in SA. Meanwhile trail runners Sarah Gray and Carel le Roux were also confirmed as the winners of the off-road running series and will receive their financial rewards when the series prizegiving is held early next year.

Christie Hearder’s consistency allowed her to easily claim the 2020 title in the ROAG MTB series. Picture: Bryan Funnell

In the age classes there were some remarkable performances. One of the most noteworthy was that of young trail runner Charli Mlotshwa, who was not only the U13 Short Course Champion with 500 points, but he also won the overall short-course trail running event with a perfect score.

After finishing second U13 and third overall in the opening event at Wartburg, Mlotshwa was unbeaten in his age category for the rest of the events in the series. He also finished second overall at Karkloof and Illovo to leave him with five wins in the overall competition as well as seven victories in his age category.

Star of the series

Other trail runners to end the season with 500 points included Gray in the overall and the senior long-course categories, and Team ROAG Racing athlete Hana Newlands in the U13 female short course races.

In the mountain biking, Michael Foster was arguably the star of the series with seven wins in the junior male class. His year-long performances also allowed him to end up fifth overall.

Performers in each age group stamped their authority on proceedings. Picture: Tim Foster on Unsplash

Other mountain bikers in the longer distance events to claim full points in their age classes included the top two in the men’s overall, sub vet (30-39) Marais and senior (23-29) Brendan van Heerden, while the women’s overall winner Hearder, enjoyed six wins from the nine events in the senior age category during the year.

Hat-trick of victories for Van Eeden

In the intermediate distance the Johnson brothers Max and Joshua were two of the stars as they claimed perfect scores of 500 points in the nipper boys (8-10) and sprog boys (11-12) categories with seven and six wins respectively, while Madison Bateson (sprog) and Omar Wilson (sub junior) were also each able to secure six wins during the series.

More sports: Dusi team competition launched

The series was also a success for Team ROAG Racing with trail runner Hana Newlands joined on the top steps of the podiums by MTB teammates Riley Smith (youth female) and Sarah Ryan (junior female), while Chloe Allison was runner-up in the sprog girls and Cade Smith was third in the sprog boys.

Selected results
Overall Male
1st Stuart Marais 486 points
2nd Brendan Van Eeden 460
3rd Tyronne White 408
4th Andrew Hill 406
5th Michael Foster 304
Overall Female
1st Christie Hearder 472
2nd Sanchia Malan 378
3rd Nadine Nunes 326
4th Belinda Mason 306
5th Bronwyn Evans 247
Youth Male
1st Justin Swanepoel 486
2nd Nicholas Burczak 460
3rd Connor Steytler 394
Youth Female
1st Riley Smith 486
Junior Male
1st Michael Foster 500
2nd Matthew Scott 418
3rd Brent Yelland 363
Junior Female
1st Sarah Ryan 472
Senior Male
1st Brendan Van Eeden 500
2nd Dean Van Dyk 432
3rd Brad Thompson 406
Senior Female
1st Christie Hearder 500

Trail Running
Long Course
Overall Male
1st Carel Le Roux 401
Overall Female
1st Sarah Gray 500
2nd Hayley Mackinnon 394
3rd Alison Wasserfall 258
Senior Female
1st Sarah Gray 500
2nd Alison Wasserfall 303
Vets Male
1st Carel Le Roux 486
Vets Female
1st Hayley Mackinnon 486
Masters Female
1st Karen Maiden 486
Short Course
Overall Male
1st Charli Mlotshwa 500
2nd Luke Newlands 259
Overall Female
1st Hana Newlands 460
Under 13 Male
1st Charli Mlotshwa 500
Under 13 Female
1st Hana Newlands 500
Under 18 Male
1st Luke Newlands 355
– Copy supplied


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *





How to deal with that holiday stress