WESSA 2017 Annual Awards

WESSA celebrates ‘People Caring for the Earth’ with 2017 Annual Awards

WESSA has paid tribute to a wide range of outstanding environmental achievements with the presentation of the organisation’s 2017 Annual Awards. The Awards were presented at the organisation’s 91st AGM, hosted by WESSA’s KwaZulu-Natal Regional Membership at the Protea Hotel Durban Edward on Saturday 16 September.

The WESSA Awards, which have been presented since 1974, enable WESSA to recognise and honour those who have made a significant contribution to the environmental conservation or environmental education sector in South Africa, in a sustainable manner.

All the award winners
Back row L – R: Neale Hill (Ford Wildlife Foundation), Conor Estment (Friends of the Liesbeek), Warren Funston (Eskom), Kelly Fester (Bridgestone South Africa), Prof Michael Kidd (WESSA Chairman)
Front row L – R: Ayanda Lipheyane, Mncekeleli Klaas and Phil McLean (Friends of the Liesbeek), Jacques Tredoux, Kerseri Pather (Eskom), Dr Graham Avery, Dr Thommie Burger (WESSA CEO)

YOUTH AWARD  –  Ayanda Lipheyane
In recognition of his actions as a key initiator responsible for the upscaling of community-based resource monitoring through the Enviro-Champs movement. Ayanda’s actions in strengthening citizen-based water, waste and sanitation management are now being adopted across South Africa. WESSA acknowledges him as an enthusiastic and thoughtful young leader. He is an inspiration to all of us in ‘Caring for the Earth’. Photo: Ayanda Lipheyane (centre) with WESSA Chairman Prof Michael Kidd (left) and WESSA CEO Dr Thommie Burger (right)

In keeping with the organisation’s ongoing investment in developing an empowered and enthused youth sector, a new Youth Category was included in the 2017 WESSA Awards and the initial recipient was Ayanda Lipheyane from Pietermaritzburg.

The WESSA Gold Medal was awarded to Dr Graham Avery from Cape Town, while the 2017 Group Award was presented to Friends of the Liesbeek in Cape Town. Individual Awards for 2017 were awarded to Jacques Tredoux from Kimberley and Sandy Camminga (in absentia) from Richards Bay. The three winners of the 2017 WESSA Corporate Award were Ford Wildlife Foundation, Eskom and Bridgestone South Africa.

The WESSA AGM was held in parallel with Sharing and Caring for Water 2017, which is an important international water conference that was co-hosted this year by WESSA, the Global Participatory Water Management Network (GPWMN – an international water management network supported by the United Nations and UNESCO) and eThekwini Municipality.

The programme for the WESSA AGM was structured around the conference theme and guest speakers included Emeritus Prof. Rob O’Donoghue, former CEO of iSimagaliso Andrew Zaloumis, Jean Senogles from WESSA Highway Branch and Westville Conservancy, Crispin Hemson from Friends of Pigeon Valley and Ayanda Lipheyane from water engineering company GroundTruth.

#2017WESSAAwards #WessaAGM #PeopleCaringForTheEarth