Spectacular XCO Championships amongst the Aloes

Spectacular XCO Championships amongst the Aloes

KZN MTB News  –  25 June
The crispy winter morning air was soon forgotten when the riders brought the heat to the 2017 KZNMTB Provincial XCO Championships at Aloe Wildlife Estate on Saturday 24 June.  Many who had ridden it in practice sessions prior to racing had mentioned the flatness of the course, and that there were very few technical sections. This made for no rest time and excellent sprint finishes to watch for the spectators at the end of each race.

KZNMTB Provincial XCO Cup Series winner Stuart Marais claimed the Elite Men’s title with Brennan Anderson (left) in second place and Mboneni Ngcobo (right) in third place at the 2017 KZNMTB Provincial XCO Championships. Photo credit: Gavin Ryan/QuickPix

KZNMTB Provincial XCO Cup Series winner Stuart Marais claimed the Elite Men’s title. Marais raced across the line with U23 Men’s winner Julian Jessop (Concept Cyclery). Marais consistent results this year have been a true reflection of the hard work and dedication he has put into his sport. Marais has had nine weekends of solid racing, and said that he will take some time to recover before kicking off his build-up to SA National MTB Champs in July. Brennan Anderson and Change a Life Academy’s Mboneni Nqcobo excited the crowds in their sprint finish for second and third respectively.

Frankie du Toit was the fastest Elite Women on the day at the 2017 KZNMTB Provincial XCO Championships. Photo credit: Gavin Ryan/QuickPix

Back home for the holidays from Stellenbosch University was Wartburg local Frankie du Toit (Absolute Motion), who claimed the Elite Women’s title on Saturday’s race ahead of Bianca Haw and Skye Davidson. Du Toit mentioned that because the track lacked lots of technical sections, she had no time for a rest, and constantly had to power through the race.

The Sub Junior Boys’ race was devastating for race leader Jordan Bold, whose tyre flipped out in the last corner leaving him with the internal dilemma of either sprinting to the finish with his bike or trying his utmost to ride it over the line, which he crossed in fourth place. Jonathan Watts fought a hard race against Bold and claimed the gold medal, with GO!Durban Cycling Academy’s Mncedisi Mkhize crossing the line in second to take the silver. Daniel van der Watt claimed the bronze medal to round off the podium.

Another dramatic and thrilling race finish was that of the Vets Men’s race, as Ewan Cochran and Warren Price threw their hearts into their legs and powered to the photo finish that showed Price just pipping Cochran to the post. Third place on the day went to Carl Adendorff.

Summary of Results from the 2017 KZNMTB Provincial Champs (Saturday 24 June)

Elite Men
1.Stuart Marais 1:40.44; 2.Brennan Anderson 1:45.55; 3.Mboneni Ngcobo 1:45.56

Elite Women
1.Frankie du Toit 1:36.33; 2.Bianca Haw 1:40.08; 3.Skye Davidson 1:50.52 *; 4.Kelly Simkiss

U23 Men
1.Julian Jessop 1:40.45; 2.Komborero Bere 1:46.16 *; 3. Henry Liebenberg 1:48.28; 4.Devon Smith 1:49.33

Junior Men
1.Jordan Wisdom 1:20.08; 2.Thomas Cheatle 1:22.58; 3.Kieran Blunt 1:23.08

Youth Men
1.Travis Stedman 1:00.56; 2.Johandre’ Marx 1:04.30; 3.Sam Moore 1:05.06

Youth Women
1.Beani Thies 0:51.25; 2.Megan Bircher 0:51.29; 3.Bridget Theunissen 0:55.30

Vets Men
1.Warren Price 1:15.21; 2.Ewan Cochran 1:15.21; 3.Carl Adendorff 1:15.45

Vets Women
1.Natalie Bergstrom 1:06.41; 2.Landy Puddu 1:09.10; 3.Carol Thomas 1:18.18

Sub Vets Men
1.Leeroy Emslie 1:13.37; 2.Carl Calverley 1:14.00; 3.Frederick Rossouw 1:17.12

Sub Junior Boys
1.Jonathan Watts 0:51.16; 2.Mncedisi Mkhize 0:51.25; 3.Daniel van der Watt 0:51.26

Sub Junior Girls
1.Chloe Bateson 0:52.43; 2.Ansli de Beer 1:00.00

Master Men
1.Philippe Moretonas 1:06.17; 2.Willie Pelser 1:11.26; 3.Andrew Mackinnon 1:14.13

Master Women
1.Ingrid Flint 1:00.44

Grand Master Men
1.Bruce Hansen 1:14.38

Grand Master Women
1.Frances Marsburg 1:01.37

Nipper Boys
1.Cameron Calitz 0:30.33; 2.Matthew Horter 0:31.59; 3.Logan Stander 0:32.09

Nipper Girls
1.Hannah Elliott 0:33.22; 2.Jodi Mackinnon 0:36.38; 3.Derryn Millward