SPAR KZN Regional Hockey Tournament

SPAR KZN Regional Hockey Tournament Pietermaritzburg Central and Pietermaritzburg North Saturday 21 March Pic:  Sophie Thompson

SPAR KZN Regional Hockey Tournament
Pietermaritzburg Central and Pietermaritzburg North
Saturday 21 March
Pic: Sophie Thompson

The 2015 SPAR KZN Regional Hockey Tournaments is at the half way point with two regionals taking place in Pietermaritzburg on Saturday 21 March.

The two regionals will have schools from around Pietermaritzburg and Hilton competing in the Central and North regionals at the UKZN PMB Hockey grounds and at Epworth. Hosting the Pietermaritzburg North Regional is Howick High School and the Pietermaritzburg Central Regional is Treverton School.

Defending champions of the Central Regional, Pietermaritzburg Girls’ High School are aiming to make it five out of five titles, having charged to the front in all previous tournaments. At the Grand Finals in July, GHS over the past four years have featured in all of the medal games, finishing with two silvers and two bronzes. They will be taking on another seven schools from their area.

Coach for Girls’ High School, Taryn de Winnaar will be at the helm guiding her girls yet again. The passionate coach has just returned from Leipzig in Germany where she was the Vice-Captain for the South African Women’s Indoor Hockey Team, her newly acquired knowledge will sure to be additional armour in the already formidable team.

St Anne’s College are the defending champions from the Northern suburbs of Pietermaritzburg. St Anne’s fielded a young team at the Grand Finals last year and walked away with silver and building on their experience hope to make their fourth appearance at the Grand Finals. They will need to defeat six other schools, including previous regional winner, The Wykeham Collegiate.


Teams that will be participating in the tournaments are Grace College; St Anne’s College; The Wykeham Collegiate; Carter High School; Howick High School; Voortrekker High School and Linpark High School. In the Central Regional the teams are Epworth Independent High School for Girls; Alexandra High School; St John’s DSG; Pietermaritzburg Girls’ High School; Maritzburg Christian School; Treverton College; Russell High School and Newton School.

MD for SPAR, Rob Philipson commented, “Fifteen schools ready themselves to take to the pitch on Human Rights Day for the fifth and sixth regionals in our tournament. Each year, I am so impressed by how this tournament keeps growing! To all the young ladies taking to the field enjoy yourselves, and at the end of the day, may hockey be the outright winner.”


Not only do the top teams go through to the Grand Finals, but arguably the most important people on the field at all times, the umpires. At each regional, the Most Promising Umpire is selected and then invited to join the teams at the finals in July where they can further develop their knowledge with the whistle.

Tournament Director, Les Galloway commented, “This tournament is not only about the game, but all aspects of it. The Most Promising Umpire is a key ingredient to our tournament and hopefully to growing the game. All of the ten invited umpires get to spend time with two of our top KZN umpires, Tanya Schafer and Mike Lees who take this opportunity to guide and teach them a few tricks to the trade.”


The two winners of the Pietermaritzburg Regionals will be joining Hoërskool Ferrum from the Northern KZN Regional, Amanzimtoti from the Durban South Regional, Ashton International College from the Durban North Regional and Durban Girls’ College from Durban Central Regional along with another four teams from around KwaZulu Natal in the grand finals that take place in July.

For more info like the Facebook page.