Marais and Bergstrom collect spoils for Quattro ROAG Series

Marais and Bergstrom collect spoils for Quattro ROAG Series

Marais and Bergstrom walk off with biggest series prizes

THE 2017 Quattro ROAG Series wrapped up on Friday evening 29 September when KwaZulu-Natal’s top mountain bikers were honoured, while Stuart Marais and Natalie Bergstrom walked off with the biggest series prizes in South African mountain biking.

Quattro ROAG Series winners Stuart Marais (left) and Natalie Bergstrom (centre, right) with ROAG Managing Director Nicole Talbot (right) and paralympian Goldy Fuchs at the prizegiving. Andrew McFadden /

Bergstrom and Marais dominated the women’s and men’s series respectively and at the annual prizegiving on Friday night in Bishopstowe they duly received their R25 000 prizes for their efforts across the nine events in 2017.
Mark Mackenzie and Wendy Mills were the winners of the corresponding trail running series which was introduced for the first time this year.

Marais became the first person to win the Quattro Roag Series with a perfect score of 600 points. 

Stuart Marais, pictured here on his way to victory in the aQuelle Tour de Krantz, achieved a perfect score for the 2017 Quattro ROAG Series. Ralph Schroder /Schroder Sports Photography

The Howick engineer, who has become a full-time professional mountain biker this year, despite not being sponsored, started his ROAG Series campaign with a win at the Wartburg Classic but was just beaten by Julian Jessop in the second event, the Sugar Rush Classic. However, by notching up another five wins in series events after that, Marais was able to discard his worst result and that second position was replaced by his win in the final event at Baynesfield allowing Marais to celebrate last night with a perfect score of 600 points.
Riders have to compete in at least six out of the nine events and only their best six results count toward the series total.

Leeroy Emslie was second in the men’s competition, 152 points behind Marais with David Low third.

Men’s podium: Quattro ROAG Series winner Stuart Marais (dark jacket) is flanked by runner up Leeroy Emslie (left) and Quattro CEO Gary Wtkins with third placed David Low (right). Andrew McFadden /

Bergstrom was very consistent in the women’s competition and although she ended up just 26 points ahead of Christie Leigh Hearder, the result is deceptive with Bergstrom putting herself in a strong position early in the competition and then holding on for a deserved victory.

Women’s podium: Quattro ROAG Series winner Natalie Bergstrom (pale blue dress) is flanked by runner up Christie Leigh Hearder (left) and Quattro CEO Gary Watkins with third placed Nadine Nunes (right). Andrew McFadden /

The Quattro ROAG Series is not just about the race winners with riders across all age groups, from grandmasters and masters down to nippers, sprogs and sub-juniors, competing for series titles in their category.



Full list of Quattro ROAG Series prizewinners
Overall Men: 1 Stuart Marais, 2 Leeroy Emslie, 3 David Low.
Overall Women: 1 Natalie Bergstrom, 2 Christie Leigh Hearder, 3 Nadine Nunes.
Youth Men: 1 Sam Moore, 2 Johandre Marx, 3 Dean Gregson.
Youth Women: 1 Sarah Ryan, 2 Marlize van Zyl.
Junior Men: 1 Jordan Wisdom, 2 Cade Muldoon, 3 Thomas Cheatle.
Junior Women: 1 Renee De Beer.
Senior Men: 1 Stuart Marais, 2 Brennan Anderson , 3 Jedson Tooms.
Senior Women: 1 Christie Leigh Hearder.
Sub Vet Men: 1 Leeroy Emslie, 2 David Low, 3 Carl Calverley.
Sub Vet Women: 1 Nadine Nunes.
Vet Men: 1 Hendrik Bester, 2 Carl Adendorff, 3 Robert Watts.
Vet Women: 1 Natalie Bergstrom, 2 Belinda Mason, 3 Taryn Morgon.
Master Men: 1 Jasper van Vessem, 2 Shane Scheiber, 3 Lonnie Tiegs.
Master Women: 1 Jessica Ramsden.
Grandmaster Men: 1 Fred Lauterbach.
Grandmaster Women: 1 Franses Marsburg.
Nipper Men: 1 Luca Zietsman, 2 Logan Stander, 3 Cameron Calitz.
Nipper Women: 1 Hannah Elliott, 2 Jodi Mackinnon, 3 Chloe Allison.
Sprog Men: 1 Omar Wilson, 2 Sean Yelland, 3 Daniel Mason.
Sprog Women: 1 Emily Van Heerden, 2 Riley Smith, 3 Megan Horsley.
Sub Junior Men: 1 Jonathan Watts, 2 Daniel van der Watt, 3 Jayden Moolman.
Sub Junior Women: 1 Anvia Bredenkamp.
Overall Men:1 Mark Mackenzie, 2 David Mercer, 3 Hayden Bam.
Overall Women: 1 Wendy Mills, 2 Alison Wasserfall, 3 Karen Maiden.