Mandela Day Marathon

Mandela Marathon logo



Runners from all corners of South Africa, and internationally will again converge on the Manaye Hall, previously known as Plessislaer, arya Samaj Hall in Imbali to the Mandela Capture site in Howick to run the legacy marathon, the Mandela Day Marathon, on the 25th of August 2013. This was confirmed at a media briefing last week by the Honourable Mayor of uMgungundlovu District Municipality, Cllr Yusuf Bhamjee and the Municipal Manager, Sibusiso Khuzwayo.

The Mandela Day Marathon is an associate of AIMS – the Association of International Marathons and Distance Races. uMgungundlovu District is proud that its city, Pietermaritzburg hosts three international races, the Mandela Day Marathon, the Maritzburg City Marathon and the monumental Comrades Marathon. All three marathons are recognised by this international structure.

The prize money this year has increased by 22%, with the first three places, male and female receiving R40 000, R25 000 and R18 000 respectively. The 10k first three places will receive R3 000, R1 500 and R1 000.

Entry to the 42.2km is R125, and R75.00 for the 10km race. Payment can be made at any FNB branch. Online entries open on the 15th of May on:, and registration can also be done at Local Municipality Customer Care Centres in Impendle, Mkhambathini, Richmond, Mpofana, uMshwathi, uMngeni, and Msunduzi, as well as the District office at 242 Langalibalele street. Entries close on 30 June 2013, and will be limited to 2 500 runners per race.